Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
127
3
2
THE REESE WITHERSPOON X HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK and NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" --Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.
Publisher: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2018.
ISBN: 9780735219090
0735219095
Characteristics: 370 pages :,map ;,24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
juliamlynch
Oct 20, 2019

I loved It !

j
jbr722
Oct 20, 2019

just finished this book and am not sure why it has been this long on best sellers list?
seemed somewhat unrealistic about a very young girl taking care of herself and
becoming a top book writer??? the murder part was not that thrilling only
two persons would have been the murder? it is easy to read but was somewhat
repeative seemed very much a fiction book. would maybe give it three stars just
because light fast read if just looking for something fast to read.

JCLKariE Oct 18, 2019

One by one Kya's family leaves and never comes back. Abandoned and alone, Kya lives in the marsh of Barkley Cove, North Carolina. The birds, the water and sand are her only companions. One thoughtful man, his wife, and a boy who loves the marshes almost as much as Kya are her only connections to town. As she grows up Kya and Chase, a boy from town, begin noticing each other. After he's found dead in the swamp, the town blames Kya, the Marsh Girl.

Owens blends a nature study, coming of age, love story and a murder-mystery to create a unique character study of loneliness in the natural world. The writing is lyrical and lush. This one lives up to the hype.

m
marshbook
Oct 16, 2019

The author paints a wonderful story. You can imagine where she lives and how she survives. The mystery keeps you guessing throughout the book. Wonderfully believable characters. I cried towards the end of the book.

m
MB85CAL
Oct 13, 2019

Beautifully written. Hard to get into . . . but worth the patience to stay the course. Like Carson McCullers and WilliamFaulkner, Delia Owens weaves a story of the South with characters with whom one finds common ground and empathy.

d
dagny49
Oct 02, 2019

Recommended by Karen

g
good_stuff_4U
Sep 26, 2019

The descriptive use of the natural environment has been lacking in fiction. Delia Owens nails the integration of the feelings and instincts that nature brings to our world. Love how she takes a very dysfunctional existence and shows it's many outcomes.

s
superreader64
Sep 20, 2019

I didn't like this book. I didn't finish reading it. I would not recommend this book to anyone. Not my cup of tea.

m
mls2
Sep 19, 2019

I SO LOVED this book! I was right there with Kya from the get go! What a well written first fiction novel-so descriptive. One of the best reads we have had in our book club & a great discussion. Kudos Delia Owens👏👏!

a
allysunsun24
Sep 19, 2019

This was such a wonderful and heart wrenching read! Marsh Girl is going to be one of those characters that sticks with me for awhile!

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
a
AliceInWonderbread
Sep 19, 2019

AliceInWonderbread thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

n
nherrera61
Aug 07, 2019

nherrera61 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top